Current Obsession

Lissie. OMG. There’s just something about her version of this song that is really resonating with me right now. I tried to listen to the original after I first heard this, but it just didn’t click.

I found this thanks to messybessy on Jezebel. I lurk on Jezebel a lot, I spend more time reading the comments than I do the actual articles though. Messybessy posted this video in response to an article about white girls covering hip hop artists.

This has been played countless times since the first listen on Monday, I have forced my roommates and my husband to listen to it as well. It went up on my personal facebook, and on twitter. Now I’m putting it here. I just can’t shut up about it.

I’m on a constant quest for new anthem songs. I’ve been in a bit of a rut regarding some personal choices and music has always been one of my “pull through” tools. It pulls me in, reassures me, heals me, gives me strength to go on. It tells me I’ll be fine once I get it. Another song that has done this for me recently is Amanda Palmer’s “Do you swear to tell the whole truth, nothing but the truth, so help your black ass.”

More awesome.

clicks replay a couple more times

Talk Amongst Yourselves!

